DuPage County DUI Attorney - Theodore Gailan

Illinois State Police Under Age DUI Facts

Reading the facts below, will make you feel hopeless, if it is after the fact...
that is why it is important to...

BE PREPARED...Anyone can be pulled over for suspicion of a DUI...

What are Under Age DUI Conviction Penalties in Illinois?

    First Under Age DUI Conviction

  • Minimum of 2-year loss of full driving privileges.
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year.
  • Maximum fine of $2,500.

    Second Under Age DUI Conviction

  • Minimum of 5-year loss of full driving privileges for a second conviction within a 20-year period.
  • Mandatory 5 days imprisonment or 240 hours of community service.
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year.
  • Maximum fine of $2,500.

    Third Under Age DUI Conviction

  • Minimum of 10-year loss of full driving privileges.
  • Mandatory 18-30 month periodic imprisonment.
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 7 years.
  • Maximum fine of $25,000.

   Aggravated Under Age DUI Conviction - Class 4 felony
     (following a crash resulting in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement).

  • Minimum of 1-year loss of full driving privileges.
  • Mandatory 10 days imprisonment or 480 hours of community service.
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 12 years.
  • Maximum fine of $25,000.


What are other Under Age Alcohol Offense Penalties in Illinois?

    Illegal Transportation of an Alcoholic Beverage

  • Maximum fine of $1,000.
  • Drivers license suspended for a second conviction.
  • Drivers license revoked for a second conviction in a 12-month period.

What is Summary Suspension for Under Age Violators in Illinois? 

    First Offense

  • A chemical test indicating a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory 6-month drivers license suspension.
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) results in a 12-month license suspension.

    Subsequent Offenses

  • A chemical test indicating a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory 1-year drivers license suspension.
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) results in a 3 year license suspension.

 

What is the Consequences for Using a Fake Drivers License or ID Card in Illinois? 

    The penalties for using false IDs are serious and could change your life forever.

  • Obtaining a drivers license through false affidavit is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
  • Allowing another person to use your identification documents to apply for a drivers license or ID card is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.

 

Does Illinois have a Zero Tolerance Law for Underage Drinking and Driving? 

   Yes, there is a Zero Tolerance Law in Illinois towards Underage Drinking and Driving.

  • Zero tolerance is a state law in regards to underage Drinking and Driving that went into effect on January 1, 1995.
  • The law provides for suspension of the driving privileges of any person under the age of 21 who drives after consuming alcohol.  Like the name zero tolerance suggest, any trace of alcohol in a young person's system can result in a suspended drivers license.
  • There are exceptions - - minors who consume alcohol as part of a religious service or those who ingest a prescribed or recommended dosage of medicine containing alcohol.

 

People often ask me various other questions about D.U.I. law, which is extensive.  Although, the main fact you need to know is, if you are convicted of a D.U.I., your driver's license will be revoked. 

However, if you are a first time offender, you may receive supervision, which will not revoke your driver's license.  While you are on supervision, you will have to take alcohol/drug classes, attend a one night victim impact panel and pay fines and court costs, but your license will not be revoked. You can only receive supervision one time in your lifetime. A D.U.I. supervision or revocation is not expungable.  It will stay on your record for life.  You can thank the legislature for that.

If you have any questions or are looking for an attorney as experienced as I am, please, call 630-467-0400 or email me at ted@tedgailan.com.  I have successfully represented lawyers, priests, and judges.  I am always here to serve you and to try my best to reach a verdict of not guilty. 


Theodore Gailan, DuPage & Cook County DUI Attorney
630.467.0400 •  ted@tedgailan.com